Retail theft might seem like a minor infraction, but the penalties can be severe under certain conditions. Here are the basic facts surrounding retail theft in Florida.

 

Who is the best criminal defense attorney in West Palm Beach?

Definition

 

Pursuant to Florida Statute §812.015(1)(d), retail theft means: “the taking possession of or carrying away of merchandise, property, money, or negotiable documents; altering or removing a label, universal product code, or price tag; transferring merchandise from one container to another; or removing a shopping cart, with intent to deprive the merchant of possession, use, benefit, or full retail value.”

 

Consequences

 

Under Florida Statute §812.014, retail theft can be classified as either petit theft or grand theft depending on the value of the alleged stolen merchandise. The penalties for a shoplifting charge depend on the value of the alleged stolen merchandise and the defendant’s prior criminal history. When the value of the alleged stolen merchandise is less than $100, the defendant is charged with petit theft in the second degree: a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail and/or up to a $500 fine. If you have been previously convicted of any theft offense, your second-degree misdemeanor charge will be upgraded to a first-degree misdemeanor charge. If you have previously been convicted two or more times for any theft offense, your misdemeanor charge will be upgraded to a third-degree felony charge.

 

Retail Theft Attorney West Palm Beach

 

When you need legal representation for retail theft, look no further than David Olson Law. We are here to help you