Posted By:

In the state of Florida, it is considered a felony offense for a person to carry a concealed firearm without a concealed weapon permit and a valid license. Charges concerning illegal possession of a firearm West Palm Beach is a serious matter with penalties that can include prison time even for first-time offenders. Section 790.01(2), Florida Statutes defines the crime of carrying a concealed firearm as a felony of the third degree.

 

Penalties for Possession of a Firearm West Palm Beach by a Convicted Felon

 

The state of Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code assigned a level 5 offense severity ranking to the crime of Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon. Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon is a second-degree felony. The determining factors for the ultimate sentence for the crime of Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon depend whether the person constructively possesses the firearm or actually possessed the firearm. Actual Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon carries a minimum-mandatory 3-year prison sentence.

 

Constructive Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon

 

A judge can impose any combination of the following penalties:

 

  • Up to fifteen (15) years in prison
  • Up to fifteen (15) years of probation
  • Up to $10,000 in fines

 

Actual Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon

 

A judge can impose any combination of the following penalties alongside the minimum-mandatory sentence of three years in prison:

 

  • Up to fifteen (15) years in prison
  • Up to fifteen (15) years of probation
  • Up to $10,000 in fines

 

What happens if I get caught with possession of a firearm in West Palm Beach?

 

Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer

 

If you are charged with possession of a firearm West Palm Beach, contact David Olson Law for an initial consultation. Our experienced criminal defense lawyer will help you avoid the harsh penalties of a conviction. Contact us today!