A burglary can have very severe consequences in Florida if found guilty. Always seek legal representation if you think you may be charged with a crime like a burglary.
Under Florida Statute 810.02(3), the crime of Burglary of a Dwelling is defined as unlawfully entering a dwelling, remaining inside a dwelling surreptitiously, or remaining inside a dwelling after permission to remain has been withdrawn with the intent to commit a crime inside. A dwelling is defined as a building or conveyance of any kind, which has a roof over it and is designed to be occupied by people lodging therein at night, together with the surrounding cartilage.
In Florida, the crime of Burglary of a Dwelling is a Second-Degree Felony and punishable by up to fifteen (15) years in prison, fifteen (15) years of probation, and a $10,000 fine. Burglary of a Dwelling is a Second-Degree Felony and assigned a Level 7 offense severity ranking under Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code. Absent grounds for a downward departure sentence, a judge is required to sentence a person convicted of Burglary of a Dwelling to a minimum sentence of 21 months in prison but may also sentence the person up to the statutory maximum of fifteen years in prison.
Juvenile Attorney West Palm Beach
David Olson Law is here to provide our clients with the utmost respect and urgency. Call today if you have any legal questions or need legal advice.