The Palm Beach Criminal Lawyer You Need to Fight Your DUI Charge
An arrest of any sort is a black mark on your record that can make doing previously simple things a lot harder. Employers will not be as willing to hire you. Landlords will not want to rent to you. College admission boards will write you off faster. It is not something that anyone wants to go through.
And while people may be willing to overlook some infractions, getting a DUI is often seen as an incredibly serious infraction. Not only did you make an erroneous judgment call, your decision potentially put the lives of others in danger.
Moreover, a DUI charge can strip you of your freedom. First time offenders in Florida, in addition to being forced to pay up to $500 in fines, serving up to six months in jail, and completing up to 50 hours of community service, may lose their license for 180 days. That’s months where you have to figure out how to get yourself from point A to point B.
And remember, this is only for the first DUI offense. Violate the law again and your infraction will be punished with increasing severity.
Florida is able to enforce these laws because every licensed driver in the state agrees to honor the rule of implied consent before receiving their license. What implied consent essentially says is that if you’re ever pulled over on the suspicion of driving under the influence, the state can take blood and breath tests. . If a test is positive for drugs or alcohol, you’re responsible for the fines, community service, or any other punishment the court decides is appropriate. And if you refuse to take a blood or breath test, your license will automatically be suspended for a year.
These rules may not have been memorably outlined for you when you applied for your license as a fresh-faced teenager, and if you’re facing DUI charges, you still may not know the ins and outs of the system. Luckily, experienced DUI lawyer David W. Olson has an intimate knowledge of Florida’s laws surrounding this area, having successfully represented people facing DUIs in Palm Beach County for over 30 years. That means he’s seen firsthand what does and does not work, and knows how to use that to your advantage.
What distinguishes him more than other local DUI attorneys is that he honestly cares about you and your case, believing that everyone deserves the right to protect their freedom with the strongest defense possible. He will sit down and discuss with you every minute detail of what happened, and call the prosecution into question over every debatable detail.
If you find yourself in need of a criminal defense attorney with specific experience handling Florida DUI cases, David W. Olson is the man you need in your corner.
A South Florida DUI Attorney Who Knows How to Fight Your Charge
Florida is serious about decreasing the number of accidents and deaths due to intoxicated driving and has implemented punishments that increase in severity with every arrest to deter repeat and even first-time offenders. Because of this, it is vital that you do everything in your power to battle your charges.
One important thing to note is that the definition of drunk driving in Florida entails driving under the influence of inhalants, alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the three to the point of impairment. But drugs such as marijuana, oxycodone, and inhalants don’t have a standard level considered safe for driving in Florida, which means they automatically lead to an arrest. With this kind of leeway, a skilled criminal lawyer could craft a solid defense in your favor.
Another little-known aspect of the law that may work in your favor is that you might be arrested for simply being in control of the vehicle. You can be in control even if you are not driving. For example, you could get arrested just for having the keys in the ignition, sitting in the driver’s seat, or if the car was on or had recently been operated. Again, this is something that a smart DUI attorney might be able to use to help get your charges reduced.
And even if your arrest is a more “typical” situation where an officer pulled you over and charged you with drunk driving after administering a breath test, there are still ways to fight back. Officers sometimes make procedural errors that can make evidence inadmissible. If your rights were violated, judges and juries may be more sympathetic to your situation. And, of course, there are all kinds of ways that the results of a breath or blood test can be called into question, from improper operation and calibration to the fact that breath tests have been known to read substances such as mouthwash as alcohol.
With more than 30 years of defending criminal cases under his belt, David W. Olson understands all the legal nuances and gray areas, and he will use every advantage he can to ensure you receive a favorable outcome.
Florida DUI Consequences from an Experienced Palm Beach Defense Attorney
Want to know exactly what you are up against? In large part, it depends on how many DUIs you already have on your record.
First DUI. If this is your first offense, it’s a second-degree misdemeanor and you could face a number of penalties, including:
- up to a $1000 fine
- 50 hours of community service
- up to six months in jail
- up to a year of probation
- license revocation for at least 180 days
While having your license revoked may sound like a negligible punishment in comparison to others, it means you might be without a way to get to work, enormously impacting your income and therefore the means you have to pay the aforementioned fines and even make a living.
Second DUI. The offense is now a second-degree misdemeanor, and the penalties include:
- up to a $2000 fine
- up to nine months in jail (a year if your BAC was 0.15 or a minor was present)
- up to a year of probation
- license revocation for at least 180 days
- mandatory Ignition Interlock Device for at least one year
The Ignition Interlock Device is essentially a personal breathalyzer that requires you to breathe less than the programmed BAC limit in order to physically start your car, and you would be responsible for the cost of installing and maintaining it, which is around $140. This breathalyzer closely monitors how much you drink and shares this information with the Florida DMV. Additionally, it can be found in a publicly accessible report on the internet.
The penalties for third offenses and beyond only increase in severity, with more and more of your freedoms taken away. All of these fines and repercussions add up quickly if you are convicted of driving under the influence, crippling your income, transportation, and potentially your freedom. You may not know the intricacies of the Florida driving and DUI laws, but David W. Olson does – which is exactly why you should turn to him in your hour of need. With him by your side, you have the best possible chance at getting a positive outcome.
Contact a Palm Beach DUI Lawyer Recognized for Excellence
The state of Florida is serious in eradicating driving under the influence, and you should take defending yourself from this prosecution just as seriously. David W. Olson has proven his abilities for decades, receiving recognition and awards from both clients and peers.
American Institute of Criminal Law Attorneys – “Ten Best Member”
Avvo – 10/10 rating
Martindale-Hubbell – AV rated, which places him in the top 5% of attorneys
National Association of Distinguished Counsel – “Nation’s Top One Percent”
National Trial Lawyers – “Top 100 Trial Lawyers”
Ready to see what so many others have already discovered? David W. Olson is the perfect choice when your future and freedom are on the line. But he will not be able to help you unless you reach out.
Get in touch as soon as possible by completing our contact form or calling us at 561-833-8866.